Official Media Release

Upper Hunter Electorate Schools To Be Air Conditioned Under Cooler Classrooms Fund

Michael Johnsen MP, Member for Upper Hunter today announced that 33 schools in the Upper Hunter Electorate are to receive air conditioning under the State Government’s Cooler Classrooms program.

Mr Johnsen said these schools were part of more than 900 schools across NSW which would receive funding under the NSW Liberals & Nationals Government’s record $500 million program – the largest investment of its kind in NSW history.

“I’m pleased that 33 schools in local communities right across our Upper Hunter Electorate will benefit from the Cooler Classrooms Fund. This is part of the Government’s continued commitment to providing environments where our students and teachers can best succeed,” Mr Johnsen said.

“I know many teachers, parents and students will be thrilled that the State Government is delivering on our commitment to provide healthy learning environments in which our students and teachers can thrive, no matter the weather,” Mr Johnsen said.

“From Gloucester to Denman, Quirindi to Singleton, students and teachers around the Upper Hunter Electorate will benefit from new air conditioning in their school.

“Delivering air conditioning to more schools than ever before is only possible due to the strong economic management of the Liberals & Nationals Government of which I am proud to serve as a Member.”

The first round of applications took place throughout Term 3 this year. A second round will open in the new year.

“We’re installing solar panels and ‘smart systems’ alongside the air conditioning units, so schools can offset their additional energy use and efficiently heat and cool their schools,” Mr Johnsen said.

In addition to the hundreds of schools benefiting under the Cooler Classrooms program, air conditioning will be delivered in all new and upgraded schools under the Government’s record $6 billion school building program over the next four years.

Schools that will have their classrooms and libraries air conditioned under round one in Upper Hunter include:

Aberdeen Public School

Belltrees Public School

Blackville Public School

Blandford Public School

Cassilis Public School

Denman Public School

Gloucester High School

Gresford Public School

Jerrys Plains Public School

King Street Public School

Kirkton Public School

Martindale Public School

Martins Creek Public School

Merriwa Central School

Mount Pleasant Public School

Muswellbrook High School

Muswellbrook Public School

Muswellbrook South Public School

Paterson Public School

Quirindi High School

Quirindi Public School

Sandy Hollow Public School

Scone High School

Scone Public School

Singleton Heights Public School

Singleton High School

Singleton Public School

Spring Ridge Public School

Ulan Public School

Vacy Public School

Walhallow Public School

Wallabadah Public School

Willow Tree Public School

School principals are encouraged to apply to the second round of the Fund, which will open on Day 1 of Term 1 next year. More information can be found at